Car Trip Reality in 5 Minutes

Old fashioned family road trip. What do you picture? I picture my family and I in the car bonding and make amazing happy wonderful memories to last forever as we travel mile after mile. We play road games like I spy or the alphabet game or find a license plate for as many states as we can. We sing songs together, tell jokes and stories…

And reality just slapped me across the face. Ouch! I am currently listening to the Carmen Sandiago DVD on the 3rd time around because when one child wants to turn it off the other NEEDS to watch it then vice versa. (did you know the Mississippi River runs through 10 States?) Oh, and I now just heard my 3 year old scream she REALLY has to go potty… again… for the 4th time… with in the last 2 hours. We’ve already stopped for her to go potty each time she has said she needed to go. Seriously, how often does she need to go? Oh and now the other one wants food. Don’t mind me while I through a bag of goldfish into the back like a zookeeper throws food to the lions.

Oh goody! Another rest area. I have literally lost count how many of these things I’ve been to today. Does any else have major anxiety at these things? Who’s lurking in the woods around the building-human or animal. (maybe I’m just paranoid on that one) Oh and don’t get me started on the germs. Now don’t get me wrong many of the rest areas that I have seen have been updated and redesigned since I was a kid however, I still get the heebie geebies just because of the lingering memories I have of the old rest areas of my youth. And let me ask you this. Why does this happen? I see a sign for a rest area ahead. I ask the kids “Does anyone have to go potty?” I get two no’s. I then ask individually. “Connor, do you have to go?” “no” okay great! “Autumn, do you have to go potty?” “No” Now she’s still potty training so I ask again. “Autumn, are you sure you don’t have to go potty?” “No Mommy, I’m good” Fantastic! Finally, a rest stop I don’t have to stop at. Then as I am passing the exit I hear a shrieking voice from the back…I’ll give you one guess as to who’s sweet beautiful voice it is,” I HAVE TO POTTY!!!!!!!” I mean really? Side of the road potty stop it is because I can’t trust a 3 year old who is potty training to hold it. UGH!

Okay, On the road again. And finally Carmen Sandiago has been turned off. And not that I’m not grateful to Carmen. Because of her thievery around the world my kids have learned so much about geography and history I will eternally be thankful but she’s been steeling things for the last 6 hours. I’m kind of tired of it. So, Carmen, Thank you for the lessons today but bye-bye.

Ahhhhh, silence. It’s a wonderful thing. How did I get silence? I pads. Yup, I’m that mom and I just don’t even care what others say. I know it’s totally possible to parent without them but the tool is there and if it helps to alleviate some of my stress, anxiety and frustration why not use it?

10 hours to go!!!

Leave a comment